Lumiére By Jacqueline E. Garlick

Lumiere cover

 

Title: Lumiére

Author: Jacqueline E. Garlick

Series: Illumination Paradox (Book 1)

Pages: 400 (paperback)

 

 

 

 

Amazon.com Description:

 

Even in a land of eternal twilight, secrets can’t stay in the dark forever.
Seventeen-year-old Eyelet Elsworth has only one hope left: finding her late father’s more prized invention, the Illuminator. It’s been missing since the day of the mysterious flash – the day that saw the sun wiped out forever over England.
But living in darkness is nothing new to Eyelet. She’s hidden her secret affliction all her life -a life that would be in danger if superstitious townspeople ever guessed the truth. And after her mother is accused and excecuted for a crime that she didn’t commit, the now-orphaned Eyelet has no choice but to track down the machine that was created for the sole purpose of being her cure.
Alone and on the run, she finally discovers the Illuminator – only to see a young man hauling it off. Determined to follow the thief and recover the machine, she ventures into the deepest, darkest, most dangerous parts of her twisted world.

 

Ok, folks. I apologize for taking so long to write another review! I read the first book and then dove into the second. No worries, this review will only cover the first book.
Disclaimer: This was my first steampunk-type book. 🙂
Eyelet Elsworth is a seventeen year old girl that we never really know much about in the book. However, What we do know is that she suffers from seizures. This wouldn’t be as much of a problem in our reality, but it is a dangerous affliction to face in Eyelet’s steampunk/alternate reality. Her reality involves townspeople that LOVE to point fingers at anyone “sick” or practicing “wickedry”. Now you get a little understanding of why the description mentioned her affliction is being kept secret!
 The book absolutely followed a steampunk vibe with its mechanical ravens and cycles with personalities. That little vibe would be my top reason to read this. Maybe it was only because it was my first taste of this kind of alternate reality? Either way….it left a decent impression.
There is a taste of romance to the plot. It did progress as the story went on, but I do feel that some of it was awkwardly described. Even so, the story was easy to follow with a few fun twists along the way.
Picture1
I will let you in on a little secret; I put this book down several times before committing to finish it. What was the reason? I think I can safely pin it to a few things. First, the romance was not something I expected. Second, I think with it being my first steampunk story, I was hoping for a crazier plot. None of these points are horrible (or even bad), just points I feel kept me from finishing it as quickly as usual.

 

Alright, obviously because I dove into the second book, I can tell you it is worth the read. However it is definitely a book that I didn’t find myself in awe over. Please don’t let me scare you away or keep you from reading this! I just feel that maybe this was not my cup of tea.

 

Leave a comment