The Siren by Kiera Cass

1448997430560Title: The Siren

Author: Kiera Cass

Publication: January 26th 2016 by HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult, Romance, Mermaids

Pages: 336

 

 

 

Barnes and Noble Overview:

 

Kahlen is a Siren, bound to serve the Ocean by luring humans to watery graves with her voice, which is deadly to any human who hears it.

Akinli is human—a kind, handsome boy who’s everything Kahlen ever dreamed of. Falling in love puts them both in danger…but Kahlen can’t bear to stay away.

Will she risk everything to follow her heart?

 

IMG_2550

My Review:

First off, WOW this cover is gorgeous! All the fine detail in the dress is truly beautiful and very fitting to the story.

For those of you that aren’t familiar with the mythology of Sirens, Siren’s were known to be beautiful but dangerous creatures that lured the sailors with their beautiful voices to their doom, causing the ships to crash on the reefs near their island.

Kahlens family was in high standing on a cruise ship enjoying the benefits of wealth when suddenly the passengers including Kahlen and her family become entranced by the mystical sound of the siren song. As the ship wrecks and passengers willingly jump over board into the ocean herself, yes herself, for as it turns out the ocean is a sort of deity that the siren serve by luring humans to their death at sea feeding the ocean to maintain life, as she starts to drown Kahlen calls out for help, the Ocean and her servents responding offering Kahlen life in exchange for 100 years of servitude.

“She told me to live. . . . I didn’t know how to tell Her that simply being alive was not enough to be called living.”

The story takes place decades after Kahlens new life began.

The story was beautifully written but no matter how quickly I sped through the pages I had this constant feeling that something was lacking… I just wanted well, more. Coming off the success of the Selection and how much I thoroughly LOVE that series, I felt a little let down by the predictability of The Siren.

“I’d waited an eternity for this. I’d have waited all over again if I had to. I was meant to kiss this boy, designed to be held by him.” 

With that being said I enjoyed the books and had tears at end that just felt perfect as an absolute ending to Kahlen & Akinli’s story.

344499cc-d29e-4d19-a6a8-65706715422f._CB300380339_7fb3388c-48e9-4671-b014-d83e21cd9695._CB300380345_0413ab4e81ee12c4a122f12df07d08b1IMG_2553

Leave a comment